The museum aka Henry B. Plant Museum was built by rail road magnate Henry B. Plant as "Tampa Bay Hotel" in 1891. After its closure in 1930 it was used as a premises of Tampa Bay Junior College, which was ultimately upgraded to University of Tampa. One wing of the building now houses a museum dedicated to showcase the glorious old Tampa Bay Hotel and has a large collection of artefacts from the defunct hotel. Initially known as "Tampa Municipal Museum" it was later renamed as "Henry B. Plant Museum". More info - Wikipedia.